Before scheduling an abortion, you need to understand what the laws in the State of Ohio are:
- Mandatory Counseling and a 24-hour Waiting Period: Women must receive pre-abortion counseling in person. Afterwards, they must wait 24 hours after receiving the counseling before undergoing the procedure.
- Ultrasound Scan Requirement: Women must have an ultrasound scan before being able to undergo an abortion procedure, since the provider must check for a fetal heartbeat. The provider must offer you the option of looking at the ultrasound image.
- Parental Consent: If you are under the age of 18, one of your parents must consent to the procedure.
- 20 Week Ban: Abortion procedures are illegal after 20 weeks in the state of Ohio, except in the case of danger to the mother's life or when her physical health is severely compromised.